## Jim Knowles Selected As Nominee For Broyles Award



Ohio State defensive coordinator Jim Knowles was named on Tuesday as one of 57 nominees for the Broyles Award, which honors the best assistant coach in all of college football. The recognition was announced by the National College Football Awards Association.

We are proud to announce the 2023 Broyles Award nominees! Congratulations to our 57 nominees – you are part of an elite group of assistant coaches. We look forward to revealing this year's semi-finalists and finalists and the winner at the Award Ceremony on December 5th. pic.twitter.com/JoDaKVnUpH

- The Broyles Award (@BroylesAward) November 14, 2023

This is the third consecutive season Knowles has received this honor. Last season, Knowles was selected as one of 26 nominees for the award, an honor that eventually was given to current Clemson and former TCU offensive coordinator and quarterbacks Garrett Riley. He was named as one of five finalists for the honor in 2021 while he led Oklahoma State's defense, a unit that finished the season ranked ninth in the country in scoring defense at 18.1 points per game.

Following an inconsistent first season at Ohio State that was defined by sluggish performances against Michigan and Georgia, Knowles has helped elevate his defense to one of the more dominant units in all of college football. Through 10 games, Knowles' unconventional 4-2-5 defense ranks second in the nation — behind only Michigan — in scoring defense at 9.9 points per game, fourth in total defense at 262.2 yards per game and ninth in red zone defense at 72.7 percent. The unit also excelled on multiple fronts, ranking second in the nation in pass defense at 149.8 yards per game and 21st in rush defense (112.4).

This year, Knowles joins a list of top Division-I assistants that includes fellow defensive coordinators Manny Diaz (Penn State), Al Golden (Notre Dame), Joe Harasymiak (Rutgers) and Phil Parker (Iowa), offensive coordinators Mike Bobo (Georgia), Adam Fuller (Florida State), Sherrone Moore (Michigan) and Tommy Rees (Alabama) and special teams coordinators Drew Svoboda (North Texas), among many others.

Finalists for the Broyle Award will be announced at a later date with the winner being selected on Dec. 5 at the State Convention Center in Little Rock, Ark.